RE-BLOG: Please Excuse the Pointing Gentile (via Twist365)

I remember when I was in France once a year; it was a thing my theater school had – an annual tour down to the Festival OFF in Avignon. Having our base in another small town (Sommières), I was wandering through the streets on my own. I ended up by a bakery and felt like a croissant. I mean, how hard could it be to order a croissant in French? (at that point, I was already getting over the fact that they didn’t speak a word of English, let alone other languages than French.) So I did – and I did it politely (mais oui: “Un croissant, s’il vous plaît.” That simple. And my pronounciation ain’t half bad).

What I can’t remember is how many times I had to repeat myself. But I had to repeat myself – several times! The woman behind the counter just looked confused and and asked, “Quoi?”. Then I pointed to the pile of croissants, and she exclaimed: “Aaaah, un croissant!” Oui, madame! Merci!

Enjoy the post.

Please Excuse the Pointing Gentile The girl at my local bakery gave me a nasty attitude yesterday. I don't typically wander into bakeries, so when I do I expect them to be full of wonder and delight.  Pastries are happy.  Always.   In fact, when I began to daydream in the middle of the workday about the possibilities in store for me there, I pictured dancing jelly donuts, danishes, and beau … Read More

via Twist365

Leave a Reply

