Follow Friday #4: Downing Street no. 10

On Follow Friday this week:
1. Introduction
2. Podcast
3. RSS: DS #10 Website Newsfeed
4. Twitter
5. Next Week/Drop Me a Line.

Picking up from the cleaning up of all the links of Follow Friday and Music Monday, I checked up on a lot of them – including @DowningStreet. Thing is, the PM has “moved” in the Twitterverse… So now that I’m making such a deal of keeping an eye on world leaders, I thought I’d update you on the matter.

Oh, and sorry for being late. I know it’s Saturday by now.

When following the link to the official website of Downing Street no. 10 from Twitter, I learned that a podcast has been launched. This has been done as part of the plan of putting documentation out there so people won’t feel like something is being hidden in the shadows (the PM explains this in the second podcast).
While I may not agree on everything David Cameron says (he IS conservative, after all – and I’m not), I find that to be an admirable position to take. And since I love podcasts (there’s nothing like that to distract you while doing the dishes!), I think this is one of the ideal ways (of many) to do it.

You can download the podcast from iTunes or from the official website: http://www.number10.gov.uk/footer/podcasts

And you can check up on the episodes/podcasts containing the Prime Minister’s Questions as part of the newsfeed: http://www.number10.gov.uk/news/prime-ministers-questions
(I haven’t heard all of the podcasts myself just yet – but I can see there’s something on foreign students in the latest round of Questions! If my dream come true, that’ll be me in a couple of years).

I haven’t found a particular blog relating to the Prime Minister or Downing Street, but I do recommend subscribing to the newsfeed (RSS) from the official website of Downing Street no. 10. The tab marked News on the homepage will take you straight to the latest news, from where you can browse the general categories: http://www.number10.gov.uk/news/latest-news

Going Twitterverse on your hineys once again before wrapping up, the PM moved to @number10gov.

Ya know, checking up on this has made me start checking up on other political leaders. I think I’ll have to do special political features/issues of Follow Friday in the future!

Reactions? Suggestions? Requests? Comment/reply away!

Leave a Reply

